We've all read Francis' books and wondered about the races mentioned.
Here's a list and description ...

2,000 Guineas
Cheltenham Gold Cup
Christmas Hurdle (Kempton)
Doncaster Rothmans Royals St. Leger
Epsom Derby
Grand National
Kentucky Derby
King Edward VII Stakes
Maryland Hunt Cup
National Hunt Festival
The Triple Crown



Major Races

(Under Construction!)

Flat Races will be denoted by a *, while Steeplechases will be denoted by **

2,000 Guineas
  • Run at Newmarket in May of every year.

    Cheltenham Gold Cup

    Christmas Hurdle (Kempton) **
  • Traditionally held on the 27th of December at Kempton (45 minute train ride from Waterloo Station, London).

    Epsom Derby
  • First ran in 1780 and named after the 12th Earl of Derby. Held annually at Epsom Downs, near London. The race is open only to three-year-old colts and fillies that must be entered when yearlings. The original course is still used; it is one yard longer than one and one-half miles.

    Grand National **
  • The course is nearly two and a quarter miles in length and has 16 unique fences including the famous Bechers Brook. The race is held in early April at Aintree. The horses must complete almost two circuits of the course and jump 30 fences after which a long 494 yard run ends the race. The first Grand National was run in 1839 and won by Lottery, carrying 12 stone.

    Kentucky Derby *
  • The Kentucky Derby is one of the three races that make up the Triple Crown. Held at Churchill Downs in Kentucky, this is one of America's oldest and most famous races.

    King Edward VII Stakes
  • Known as "The Ascot Derby" from 1834 to 1925, this Ascot race for three year old colts. It is a 1 1/2-mile race.

    Maryland Hunt Cup **
  • Held in April in Glyndon, MD since 1894. It is raced over tall post-and-rail fences.

    National Hunt
  • The National Hunt Festival is held at Cheltenham.

    The St. Leger *
  • The Doncaster Rothmans Royals St. Leger is the oldest race in the United Kingdom. First held in 1776, it is traditionally held in the beginning of September. It is a flat race over 2.8 km/3,060 yd and is the last classic of the season.

    The Triple Crown *
  • The Triple Crown is the ultimate in American flat racing. It is made up of 3 races: The Kentucky Derby, The Preakness and the Belmont Stakes.

  • Copyright 2000 Hentzau Productions. All rights reserved. Privacy policy.